I am not a vegan, I just want to be clear about that. But I have friends that are though and I often get the question from newly converted vegans, that they do not understand how a wine can’t be vegan. It´s made from grapes right?
Wine is made from grapes so why isn’t all wine vegan?
Yep wine is made from grapes, but to make sure the wine is clear and for it to stay clear, animalproducts are often used, like egg. So that is why “normal” wines might not be vegan.
What about Biodynamic wines?
Biodynamic and ecological wines are not the same. While ecological wines are under regulations not to use sertain fertilizers, pesticides etc. Biodynamic farming is a holistic practice based on Rudolph Steiners ideas about nature. If you want to know more about Mr Steiner and his beliefs just google it, there is plenty to read.
The goal with Biodynamic farming is to make the whole ecosystem on your farm to live in balance and to work towards biodiversity.
What some vegans are not perticularly fond of is that in the farmingprocess there are some treatments that involve animal parts, like horns, skulls, intestains etc. These treatments you can easily find through google if you are interested so I won’t go into it here in detail.
So even though there might not be any animalproducts used in the winemaking after harvesting the grapes, when the wine is stated as biodynamic, there are sertainly animalparts used in the treatment of the soil.
As I have come across when researching, there seems to be a split here in the vegan comunity. So everyone just have to decide for them selves. But since I promised to try to find information about this for you who asked. Here it is.